Two favourite songs from when I was young

These were a few of my favourite songs from when I was young. This is despite the fact that for years – in those days when internet was not around – I could not understand most of the lyrics.

For the first of them, it was most serendipitous discovery – of all places during a trip to IT-BHU for an inter-collegiate festival during my first year of university. How I did that is a tale in itself for some other time. This song is by the Nitty Gritty Dirt Band…. at least the version i heard first and most. It was much later that I came to know it was originally by the country music legend Hank Williams and much much later did I get a chance to hear it… I still like it despite the indisputable fact that for me, there is no Yvonne and one unlikely to be there far in the forseable future (if at all). Anyway, the song.

Goodbye, Joe, me gotta go, me oh my oh.
Me gotta go, pole the pirogue down the bayou.
My Yvonne, the sweetest one, me oh my oh.
Son of a gun, we’ll have big fun on the bayou.

Jambalaya and a crawfish pie and fillet gumbo
’cause tonight I’m gonna see my ma cher amio.
Pick guitar, fill fruit jar and be gayo,
Son of a gun, we’ll have big fun on the bayou.

Thibodaux, Fontaineaux, the place is buzzin’,
kinfolk come to see Yvonne by the dozen.
Dress in style and go hog wild, me oh my oh.
Son of a gun, we’ll have big fun on the bayou.

Jambalaya and a crawfish pie and fillet gumbo
’cause tonight I’m gonna see my ma cher amio.
Pick guitar, fill fruit jar and be gayo,
Son of a gun, we’ll have big fun on the bayou.

Settle down far from town, get me a pirogue
and I’ll catch all the fish in the bayou.
Swap my mon to buy Yvonne what she need-o.
Son of a gun, we’ll have big fun on the bayou.

Jambalaya and a crawfish pie and fillet gumbo
’cause tonight I’m gonna see my ma cher amio.
Pick guitar, fill fruit jar and be gayo,
Son of a gun, we’ll have big fun on the bayou…..

And here is the second. Another favourite ever since I heard it, with the marked significant difference that I could make out most of the lyrics. The most recent hearing was on the eve and the early hours of the Brigade Day 2009, when I danced to it, well ok ok, tried to dance to it, in merry abandon (Thank god no one came to know of it…. There ARE advantages of a solitary life sans any close confidantes, which many who used to fulfil this role deciding not to any longer…. well, to each their own….. Anyway, the song itself.

Day-o, Day-ay-ay-o
Daylight come and me wan’ go home
Day, me say day, me say day, me say day
Me say day, me say day-ay-ay-o
Daylight come and me wan’ go home
 Work all night on a drink a’ rum
Daylight come and me wan’ go home
Stack banana till the mornin’ come
Daylight come and me wan’ go home

 Come, Mister tally man, tally me banana
Daylight come and me wan’ go home
Come, Mister tally man, tally me banana
Daylight come and me wan’ go home

 It’s six foot, seven foot, eight foot BUNCH!
Daylight come and me wan’ go home
Six foot, seven foot, eight foot BUNCH!
Daylight come and me wan’ go home

 Day, me say day-ay-ay-o
Daylight come and me wan’ go home
Day, me say day, me say day, me say day…
Daylight come and me wan’ go home

 A beautiful bunch a’ ripe banana
Daylight come and me wan’ go home
Hide the deadly black tarantula
Daylight come and me wan’ go home

It’s six foot, seven foot, eight foot BUNCH!
Daylight come and me wan’ go home
Six foot, seven foot, eight foot BUNCH!
Daylight come and me wan’ go home
 Day, me say day-ay-ay-o
Daylight come and me wan’ go home
Day, me say day, me say day, me say day…
Daylight come and me wan’ go home

 Come, Mister tally man, tally me banana
Daylight come and me wan’ go home
Come, Mister tally man, tally me banana
Daylight come and me wan’ go home

 Day-o, day-ay-ay-o
Daylight come and me wan’ go home
Day, me say day, me say day, me say day
Me say day, me say day-ay-ay-o
Daylight come and me wan’ go home

Leave a Reply

