Classical Prayers#1

It is a measure of the time and state I am in at this point in time that I am evincing a renewed interest in prayer of the classical type…. I used, as a matter of routine, keep myself aware of the rituals and litanies of various religions and it was quite an interesting and captivating endeavour.

 I do really believe there is something to the theory someone once told me or I read somewhere that the efficacy of prayers lie in the words which chanted in a certain way induce feelings of peace…. which seems credible given the wealth of research of effects of sound, or as in this case, some particular sounds. However, this will be taken up at some other time since I feel it is not patricularly germane to this post.

For now, since it is the day to wish all C Pождеством Xристовом, Sretan Božić, Veselé Vánoce, Hyvää Joulua, Noeliniz kutlu olsun, God Jul, Feliz Navidad, Vesele Vianoce, весела коледа, Glædelig Jul, Frohe Weihnachten, Boldog Karácsonyt, Gioioso Natale, Felix Dies Nativitatis, or Bada Din ki Mubarakbaad, or simply Merry Christmas, let us make most of the occasion and take up some prayers of the Nasraani creed.  (As it is certain that someone is certain to ask the meaning as people have been asking me throughout the day, I must clarify that it is an Arabic/Persian version of the word Nazarenes, or the followers of the Saviour from Nazareth….. I hope it is clear now). So let us begin…. I will focus on the Zabur ( زبور‎), often equated with the Book of P…. no, find out yourself….

These titles speak out for themselves……

Beatus vir qui non abiit in consilio impiorum et in via peccatorum non stetit et in cathedra pestilentiae non sedit

Domine quid multiplicati sunt qui tribulant me multi insurgunt adversum me….. this somehow seems to be specially written for me

Verba mea auribus percipe Domine intellege clamorem meum

Domine ne in furore tuo arguas me neque in ira tua corripias me …. this and the one before it are the ones I really implore on almost a daily basis

Salvum me fac Domine quoniam defecit sanctus quoniam deminutae sunt veritates a filiis hominum …. this could describe the present day world well.

Usquequo Domine oblivisceris me in finem usquequo avertis faciem tuam a me … another entreaty from my heart

Dixit iniustus ut delinquat in semet ipso non est timor Dei ante oculos eius & Noli aemulari in malignantibus neque zelaveris facientes iniquitatem …. is again what I will ask a number of people to heed

Quid gloriatur in malitia qui potens est iniquitate… I do wish that a few people I know would pay attention to this, though I know it is asking for too much

Eripe me de inimicis meis Deus et ab insurgentibus in me libera me … another supplication of mine

Deus laudem meam ne tacueris quia os peccatoris et os dolosi super me apertum est …. this is an apt of description of all that befell me throughout this year and specially in this month

 Levavi oculos meos in montes unde veniet auxilium mihi….. this seems a good course of action, I think

And the following is one I must include in its entriety…..

De profundis clamavi ad te Domine
Domine exaudi vocem meam fiant aures tuae intendentes in vocem deprecationis meae
Si iniquitates observabis Domine Domine quis sustinebit
Quia apud te propitiatio est propter legem tuam sustinui te Domine sustinuit anima mea in verbum eius
Speravit anima mea in Domino
A custodia matutina usque ad noctem speret Israel in Domino
Quia apud Dominum misericordia et copiosa apud eum redemptio
Et ipse redimet Israel ex omnibus iniquitatibus eius

To those who think it sounds familiar, the first two words were used by Oscar Wilde as the title of a remarkable work of contrition. If you still do not understand what they mean, think of what the word “profound” which derives from this Latin word means, and “clamour” which likewise comes out of clamavi and if you need explantion of what Domine is, then… well then you will require His special help only.

Leave a Reply

