Film dialogues with a bearing on (my) life II

To continue with the film dialogues I feel are connected to my life and events…. In the previous post on this topic, I had given some from my favourite films, and the last of these was from a James Bond film…. some of these have dialogues which are not only snappy comebacks, but also excellent examples of wordplay and badinage, which belies the situation – often dire – it takes place in and also how how you can summon humour and irony in the most trying of situations. So you can expect some more ahead… but let me start from another of my favourite films.

It is the quintessential western movie, and stars at least six of the leading alpha males in star roles…. the seventh is a rookie, though he also manages to be among those who survive. For those who are familiar, these two facts are dead giveaways… It is The Magnificent Seven (1960).

This comes in right at the end. I must specify Vin was played by Steve McQueen and Chris by the splendid Yul Bryner….. It is not only about men you need to carry out violence for you having no role and needing to be as far way as possible once peace returns (This theme is very well put in a little ditty I recall, not to mention Rudyard Kipling’s “Tommy” – I will return to this theme some other time)  but a wider description of how anyone you do a favour – well most of them – expect that you will drift away afterwards…. However…. let the film tell you 

Old Man: You could a-stay, you know. They wouldn’t be sorry to have you a-stay.
Vin: They won’t be sorry to see us go, either.
Old Man: Yes. The fighting is over. Your work is done. For them, each season has its tasks. If there were a season for gratitude, they’d show it more.
Vin: We didn’t get any more than we expected, old man.
Old Man: Only the farmers have won. They remain forever. They are like the land itself. You helped rid them of Calvera, the way a strong wind helps rid them of locusts. You’re like the wind – blowing over the land and… passing on. Vaya con dios.
Chris: Adios.

Then, lets come to another of my favourite films which has the benefit of being set in one of the eras I fervently miss – the first decade of the 20th century. It is the rollicking Those Magnificent Men in Their Flying Machines or How I Flew from London to Paris in 25 hours 11 minutes (1965). I will speak about the film itself later. These two dialogues are by one of those who participate in the competition as team no 6 – Gert Fröbe plays Colonel Manfred von Holstein and Karl Michael Vogler, Captain Rumpelstoss.

Colonel von Holstein: There is nothing a German officer cannot do.
Captain Rumpelstoss: But… how will I learn to fly, Herr Colonel?
Colonel von Holstein: The way we do everything in the German army: from the book of instructions.

This leads to:

Colonel von Holstein [in plane’s cockpit and reading from flight instruction manual] : Step one: sit down.

I will now plump in for a Bond interlude. Lets take this…. it is the story of my life. Beyond that, I will say no more…. it is self explanatory. Well, if I may ask you to suspend disbelief and consider me in 007’s place, well you could put a number of people I know/used to know in the other place. This is from Moonraker (19789).

James Bond: Oh, I suppose you’re right. We would be better off working together. Détente?
Dr. Holly Goodhead: Agreed.
Bond: Understanding?
Dr. Goodhead: Possibly.
Bond: Co-operation?
Dr. Goodhead: Maybe.
Bond: Trust?
Dr. Goodhead: Out of the question.

Such are the ways of the world…. But then, what can you do?

I will end with one more James Bond dialogue….. when you must not taken in only its context, but most generally. Its from The Spy Who Loved Me (1977).

 James Bond [being endlessly pursued by Stromberg’s villains]: You ever get the feeling that somebody doesn’t like you?

To be continued…..

Leave a Reply

