Film dialogues with a bearing on (my) life IV

As I was doing this series of dialogues which I feel have some kind of relation (no matter how tenuous) to my life or so from a brace of my favourite films, I got sidetracked when I recalled the Inspector Closeau/Pink Panther series, which has an almost surreal kind of slapstick comedy, and quite a few posts followed on it (and some more are in the pipeline). However, I recalled that this series (as well as a couple of others) had been left languishing… and I determined to come back and drive them forward as I inch to my goal for April.

Let me start with another of my favourite films – another war film – which was an equally engossing book. I mean The Guns of Navarone (1961). It was a beautifully-made film, with a talented star cast headed by Gregory Peck and including Anthony Quinn, David Niven to say the least. One quote will suffice here.

Mallory (Peck): Are you sure it will work?
Corporal Miller (Niven): There’s no guarantee, but the theory’s perfectly feasible.

And from this lets come to a James Bond film. I have already given one dialogue from The Spy Who Loved Me (1977) but I will give one more, since it is brilliantly topical of some recent events. Well, I will not say more on this issue.

James Bond: Oh, by the way, thanks for deserting me back there.
Major Anya Amasova: Every woman for herself, remember?
Bond: Still, you did save my life.
Major Amasova: We all make mistakes, Mr. Bond.

And one more, this time from For Your Eyes Only (1981). I like to picture My Ustaad in Q’s place here.

[James Bond walks into a Greek Orthodox Church’s confessional booth]
Bond: Forgive me, Father, for I have sinned.
Q: [Removing disguise] That’s putting it mildly, 007!

And I will come to another of my favourite war films, The Longest Day (1962). This should have come much earlier, but then it unfortunately slipped my mind, and I also wanted a telling piece of dialogue. Well, lets start from the montage of varied scenes with which the film starts – a fleeing man on a beach being pursued by a car full of Gestapo…I would presume… before being gunned down and an officer dismounting and taking a sheaf of documents of his body, a parade in Paris being reviewed by (let me bow my head) Generalfeldmarschall Karl Rudolf Gerd von Rundstedt, the then Oberbefehlshaber West, a priest giving a sermon in a church to a congregation including a stonefaced German Wehrmacht officer, a Frenchman making a caustic comment as a portly German non-com makes his way on a donkey with supplies for the trpoops on the beach, a pretty French girl cycling past a checkpoint a hay wagon is pass through and drawing amorous glances from the German guards (and effectively facilitating the passage of the wagon – having two hidden Allied pilots – through it, and then finally Generalfeldmarschall Erwin Johannes Eugen Rommel telling his staff officers the importance of the first 24 hours of the expected invasion across the Channel.

Hmmmm….. I think I will use the priest’s dialogue.
Father Louis Roulland [to his congregation in Sainte-Mère-Église, which includes the aforesaid stonefaced officer]: Au cœur des ténèbres, au plus profond de la nuit, il ne faut jamais désespérer. Gardons notre foi intacte, inébranlable! Pour chacun de nous, la délivrance approche. (“In the heart of the darkness, in the deepest of the night, we must never lose hope. Let us keep our faith intact, steadfast! For each of us, deliverance is coming.”)

Well these are the thoughts that sustain us. I wish I could believe it myself.

One of my favourite dialogues from the film, I could not obtain. This is the terse dialogue between Oberstleutnant (eq Lt Col) Josef “Pips” Priller, the Geschwaderkommodore of JG (Jagdgeschwader) 26 (played by Heinz Reincke) and his superior officer.

Never mind, I will end this one from a Pink Panther series – in this case from the The Return of the Pink Panther (1975). I guess there are a lot of people who hold similar sentiments for me. My response will be the same as the Inspector’s.

Inspector Jacques Clouseau: [in Dreyfus’ office, after Clouseau’s apartment has been bombed] I tell you, infamous powers are at work! The instant you assign me to a case, the Underworld hears about it and I am set upon! It is amazing that I am still alive!
Dreyfus: [forcing himself not to giggle] “Amazing” is the polite term.
Inspector Clouseau: Do I detect something in your voice that says I am in disfavor with you?
Dreyfus: YES! I wish you were DEAD!
Inspector Clouseau: Well, of course, you are entitled to your opinion.

To be certainly continued….

Leave a Reply

