Film dialogues with a bearing on (my) life V

Returning to the series of my favourite dialogues- sidetracked by the urge to write about High Noon as a metaphor for my life as well as the Pink Panther series, featuring Inspector Closeau, who has become one of my favourite policemen. This is not to mention that good Wednesday on the April 21, 2009 (Thankfully, this day of the week falling on April 28 was uneventful, otherwise I would have been busy with another account). However, all these diversions happen and I contend they add some variety to my posts or so I would think.

But without any waffle, lets get back to our issue. I will start this post with a powerful scene from a Biblical film, The Ten Commandments (1956)  which features both in words and action, the perfect way to handle accusations. The scene features three iconic actors – Sir Cedric Hardwicke as the Pharoah Sethi, Charlton Heston as Moses, and Yul Brynner as Rameses. The last of them exerts a powerful influence though hje does not speak a word in this scene.

Moses: [to the Pharoah, after Sethi comes to see Moses’ directing the city to be built] Pharoah is pleased?
Sethi: Yes. But not with certain accusations, made against you.
Moses: By whom?
Sethi [ignores question]: You raided the temple granaries?
Moses: Yes.
[Rameses puts first weight on weight scale]
Sethi: You gave the grain to the slaves?
Moses: Yes.
[Rameses puts second weight on weight scale]
Rameses: You gave them one day in seven to rest.
Moses: Yes.
[Rameses puts third weight on weight scale, and scale lowers]
Sethi: Did you do all this, to gain their favor?
Moses: A city is made of brick, Pharoah. The strong make many. The weak make few. The dead make none. So much for accusations. [Puts a brick on the opposite side of Rameses’ weights,  of accusations, leading to the his side of the scale lowering to his side with a crash]

After this, let me feature from High Noon [1952]. I have talked a lot about this and it will serve no purpose for me to repeat it, save a brief and succinct outline that the film is the depiction, within one hour and a half, of how Will Kane, an outgoing marshall somewhere in the Wild West, is drawn back to his post to face an outlaw returning to the town. However, to his dismay and desperation, he finds not one man ready to help him and even his new bride does not understand him and questions his motives.

This particular quote is the resolve of a man determined to his duty in spite of the indifference and even the hostility of the very people he is trying to help. But then that is the world…. Having encountered a lot of such people, I guess I can understand Will.

Will: I’ve got to, that’s the whole thing.

Now, before I go on to anything else, I must furnish another quote from The Longest Day (1962)…. I realise I just gave one when I talked about this film in the last post. It is a difficult selection given that a lot could qualify. However, I will use one by (let me bow my head) Generalfeldmarschall Karl Rudolf Gerd von Rundstedt at a seminal point in the film’s narrative. It was one that came into mind as well as I realised the implications of the action of someone I considered a close friend, and also that they didn’t themselves realise the consequences…. or worse didn’t care at all.

Field Marshal von Rundstedt [to himself, as he perhaps begins to realize that it is the invasion, and not simply a diversion as he has believed]: Eine Invasion in der Normandie wäre gegen alle Gesetze militärischer Logik – gegen alle Logik überhaupt. (“An invasion in Normandy would be against all laws of military logic – against all logic, utterly.”)

And lets end with a couple of quotes from the Pink Panther series…. The first is from Revenge of the Pink Panther (1978) 

Clouseau: [as Chief Inspector Dreyfus shoots at him a couple of times] It’s me!
Dreyfus: I know! [laughs and starts shooting again]

And from Trail of the Pink Panther (1982)

Section Director Alec Drummond: Well, it’s about Inspector Clouseau. MI5 called and reported that Libyan agents heard a rumor that there might be an assassination attempt against Clouseau.
Dreyfus: Really? Who else wants to kill him? I mean, who is behind it?

To be continued….

Leave a Reply

