An explanation – some facts

A couple of days ago or so, I sought to give you ally, my dear readers, of why I was unable to be more regular with my posts here despite coming to have a computer at home. This was due to the computer (and my time on it) being overwhelmingly spent on other pursuits – sorry, I still cannot tell you what these were.

However, I mentioned that the issue was so serious that it prevented me from reading over a dozen books I have acquired since my trip home last month, or a couple or so more earlier. I don’t believe it myself – or will when normalcy returns, sooner or later and that is why just to keep a record of this lapse, this unprecedented act… this dereliction of duty, I must make a list of them and share it with all of you as a warning of this strange time. ‘

Out of these books, the ones I have started but am yet to finish include:

Citizen Soldiers: The U. S. Army from the Normandy Beaches to the Bulge to the Surrender of Germany – Stephen E. Ambrose (the title says it all),  13: The Story of the World’s Most Notorious Superstition by Nathaniel Lachenmeyer (likewise),  Rosa: A Novel by Jonathan Rabb (a police procedural set in Germany after the First World War), Godiva by Nerys Jones (a riveting tale set in the twilight of Anglo-Saxon England), A Walk in the Woods: Rediscovering America on the Appalachian Trail and Notes from a Small Island (both travelogues set in the US and England) and Made in America (an attempt to explain the funny varies of American English)– all by the incomparable Bill Bryson. That makes half a dozen.

Then I have Armies of God: Islam and Empire on the Nile, 1869-1899 by Dominic Green (an interesting historical narrative, Bequest by A.K.Shevchenko (a post Soviet era thriller) and A Carpet Ride to Khiva: Seven Years on the Silk Road by Christopher Aslan Alexander (again the title says it all).

The ones which I haven’t even begun reading are : 13 Things That Don’t Make Sense: The Most Intriguing Scientific Mysteries of Our Time – Michael Brooks, Murder on the Leviathan: A Novel by Boris Akunin, A New Muslim Order: The Shia and the Middle East Sectarian Crisis by Nicolas Pelham, The Devil Rides Out by Dennis Wheatley, The End of Nana Sahib: The Steam House by Jules Verne, The Gun: The AK-47 and the Evolution of War by C. J. Chivers, The Ninth Stone by Kylie Fitzpatrick, Travels with a Tangerine by Tim Mackintosh-Smith…… well over a dozen. And I dare say I am sure there will be at least a couple more I will find if I ever get to put my stacks of books into anything resembling order.

There is also Anarchy and Old Dogs by Colin Cotterill – but this I didn’t read for a special reason. It is the last of the Dr Siri series I possess at the moment and until I complete my collection with the missing first volume, I will keep this safe to savour a special time.

Furthermore, if this wasn’t enough, I today (Jan 27, of the yet-to-be categorised year 2011), went out and bought three more. The new volumes are Twelve by Jasper Kent, Mud, Muck and Dead Things by Ann Granger and A Vengeful Longing: A St Petersburg Mystery by R.N. Morris. Of these, the first is a supernatural take of the Russo-French War of 1812, the second a police procedural set in the English countryside, and the third is again of the same genre but set in Tsarist Russia in the late 1860s.

And tomorrow (Jan 28), I plan to go and buy another….. I really wonder when I will be able to finish all of them. I give myself the next month, and if I am not able, then some resolute action will be taken…….


One response to this post.

Leave a Reply

